Audition parts

Please choose either section of the script below for the speaking auditions. Remember to consider how you use expression in your voice, gestures and movement to make the character come alive. Practise both parts in the section you choose as you could be asked to read either.

Audition part – section 1

JAFAR: He who is in possession of the lamp is the genie’s master. That would be me. Put your hand up anybody who has got three wishes. Ah, just me then! Genie, I wish to be a Sultan!

GENIE: There you are boss, now you’re a Sultan. It’s a shame your surname isn’t ‘Peppershaker’ – Get it, Sultan-Peppershaker, Sultan Peppershaker! Awesome, they got it and I didn’t even have to…Sorry boss! You look really good as a Sultan. You look great up close. But you’d look even better from Jafar! Get it? Jafar!

JAFAR: No, we’re just getting started! And now, you miserable wretches, bow before my awesome power!

Audition part – section 2

JASMINE: You remind me of someone I met in the marketplace.
(ALADDIN strikes a casual pose.)

ALADDIN: “The marketplace?” That is also impossible. I have servants who go to the marketplace for me. In fact, I have servants who go to the market for my servants.

Princess Jasmine, you are very, uh… you are most extremely, um… beautiful.

JASMINE: I’m rich, too. A fine prize for any prince to marry.

ALADDIN: You mean, “Any prince whom the Princess chooses.”

JASMINE: And what if the Princess doesn’t want to choose?

ALADDIN: But you have to, right? Isn’t that the law?

JASMINE: Oh, you’re just like all the others! Go… go fly a Carpet!

Leave a comment